Links





State Requirements for Collection Agencies

Click On State
For More
Information
Requires
In State
License
Requires
In State
Bond
  Requires
Out-of-State
Agencies
to License
Requires
Out-of-State
Agencies
to Bond
Alabama * Yes No No No
Alaska Yes Yes   Yes Yes
Arizona Yes Yes   Yes Yes
Arkansas Yes Yes   Yes Yes
California No No   No No
Colorado Yes Yes   Yes Yes
Connecticut Yes Yes   Yes Yes
Delaware No No   No No
District of Columbia No No   No No
Florida Yes Y/N   Yes Y/N
Georgia No No   No No
Hawaii Y/N Yes   Y/N Yes
Idaho Yes Yes   Yes No
Illinois Yes Yes   Yes Yes
Indiana Yes Yes   Yes Yes
Iowa No No   No No
Kansas No No   No No
Kentucky No No   No No
Louisiana Yes Yes   Yes Yes
Maine Yes Yes   Yes Yes
Maryland Yes Yes   Yes Yes
Massachusetts Yes Yes   Yes Yes
Michigan Yes Yes   Yes Yes
Minnesota Yes Yes   Yes Yes
Mississippi No No   No No
Missouri No No   No No
Montana No No   No No
Nebraska Yes Yes   No No
Nevada Yes Yes   Yes Yes
New Hampshire No No   No No
New Jersey No Yes   No Yes
New Mexico Yes Yes   Yes Yes
New York No NYC & Buff   No NYC & Buffalo
North Carolina Yes Yes   Yes Yes
North Dakota Yes Yes   Yes Yes
Ohio No No   No No
Oklahoma No No   No No
Oregon Yes Yes   Yes Yes
Pennsylvania No No   No No
Puerto Rico Yes Yes   Yes Yes
Rhode Island No No   No No
South Carolina No No   No No
South Dakota No No   No No
Tennessee Yes Yes   Yes Yes
Texas No Yes   No Yes
Utah Yes Yes   Yes Yes
Vermont No No   No No
Virginia No No   No No
Washington Yes Yes   Yes Y/N
West Virginia Yes Yes   Yes Yes
Wisconsin Yes Yes   Yes Yes
Wyoming Yes Yes   Yes Yes

States that do NOT REQUIRE a Collection License

 

California

Delaware

District of Columbia

Georgia

Iowa

Kansas

Kentucky

Mississippi

Missouri

Montana

New Hampshire

Ohio

Oklahoma

Pennsylvania

Rhode Island

South Carolina

South Dakota

Vermont

Virginia

 

* Alabama - Section 40-12-80 requires $100 license if you live in a city with population of 20,000 or more - otherwise $25. No bonds and no out of state collectors need to register. http://alisondb.legislature.state.al.us/acas/ACASLogin.asp

_________________________________________ 

Statutes of Limitations

State

Oral
Agreements

Written
Contracts

Promissory
Notes

Judgments

Alabama

6

6

6

20

Alaska

6

6

6

10

Arizona

3

6

5

5

Arkansas

3

5

6

10

California

2

4

4

10

Colorado

6

6

6

20

Connecticut

3

6

6

20

Delaware

3

3

6

No Limit

D.C.

3

3

3

3

Florida

4

5

5

20

Georgia

4

6

6

7

Hawaii

6

6

6

10

Idaho

4

5

10

6

Illinois

5

10

6

20

Indiana

6

10

10

20

Iowa

5

10

5

20

Kansas

3

5

5

5

Kentucky

5

15

15

15

Louisiana

10

10

10

10

Maine

6

6

6

20

Maryland

3

3

6

12

Massachusetts

6

6

6

20

Michigan

6

6

6

10

Minnesota

6

6

6

10

Mississippi

3

3

3

7

Missouri

5

10

10

10

Montana

5

8

8

10

Nebraska

4

5

6

5

Nevada

4

6

3

6

New Hampshire

3

3

6

20

New Jersey

6

6

6

20

New Mexico

4

6

6

14

New York

6

6

6

20

North Carolina

3

3

5

10

North Dakota

6

6

6

10

Ohio

6

15

15

21

Oklahoma

3

5

5

5

Oregon

6

6

6

10

Pennsylvania

4

6

4

4

Rhode Island

15

15

10

20

South Carolina

10

10

3

10

South Dakota

6

6

6

20

Tennessee

6

6

6

10

Texas

4

4

4

10

Utah

4

6

6

8

Vermont

6

6

5

8

Virginia

3

5

6

20

Washington

3

6

6

10

West Virginia

5

10

6

10

Wisconsin

6

6

10

20

Wyoming

8

10

10

5






Email: info@pacificjudgment.com

13775-A Mono Way, #213 Sonora, CA 95370

Copyright © 2007- 2018 Pacific Judgment Enforcement

All Rights Reserved.

For information purposes only, not to be considered legal advice. If you require legal advice please contact an attorney.